My makes

Little Socks and a Bear named Bob

Since having a baby, delightful little things such as this are now tumbling out of my washing machine…

20160123_171553
Honestly, I had toy dolls as a kid who would have been too big to wear these!

As my beautiful baby girl turns 3 months, I am excited and delighted to witness her growth and development. But I do find myself feeling a tad nostalgic already about those early days when she was so very tiny, and I’ve been wondering just what I can do with her clothes.

So when the latest edition of Mollie Makes included a super-lovely ‘how-to’ around making sock bears…

121835
We love Mollie Makes!

…I had a go and created this lovely little chap with a some of my socks…

20160123_171937
He’s so lovely I think I’ll call him Bob

…which made me wonder what would happen if I applied the same process to these tiny specimens…

20160123_171840

…and this happened…

20160124_155252 (1)
Adorable

Cuteness I know!

20160124_155443 (1)
Hmm, may need to raid my husband’s sock draw to complete the set…

So that’s the lovely sock bear pattern by Amber Van Andel. Highly recommend you give it a try!

What have you done with items of clothing too precious to give away? If you fancy sharing, I would love to know.

Delighted to be linking up with:

Me You and Magoo
18 thoughts on “Little Socks and a Bear named Bob

  1. eeek! I am in love with these πŸ™‚
    Don’t get me started on the baby-nostalgia…my daughter has recently turned 6 and I still pine for those baby days. Although she is tons of fun to be around these days…there’s something about the little fingers & toes of a baby that are so adorable. I have kept her first pair of tights and I look at them sometimes and wonder how she was ever that small. The little bear is such a lovely way to use your daughter’s socks to make a lasting memory-bear.

    Like

    1. I know what you mean, I’m already looking at those first baby grows and wondering how she ever fitted into them. Thanks for taking the time to read my post, fairly new to blogging so its always nice to get some feedback . Have a great day πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thank you – they were great fun to make and didn’t take long. Think this might also be an idea for gifts for the grandparents at some point, they are pretty excited about all things baby related. Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Oh my word – they are just adorable! My second son is almost 6 months now and it is sad giving away his clothes (most have gone to the charity shop). I didn’t have it with my first because I gave everything to my friend for her twins and then got it all back again!

    Like

    1. Thank you Sarah. I know, its really hard giving away their lovely little clothes. I’m keeping one or two bits and pieces, but the rest are going to charity…although I may just be making a few more bears along the way!

      Like

  3. Oh I love this what a great project and so cute too. I will have to try this. I need to get my craft on it’s on my to do list this year. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. I hope to see you again tomorrow for another great round of #sharewithme

    Like

  4. They are absolutely adorable! My youngest is nearly 5 now but I still keep a pair of her tiny baby pink socks in my sock drawer, they make me smile every time I see them. I kept some of my daughter’s baby clothes for her to put on her dollies, it’s nice to see them out again. I also kept a couple of her tiny cotton printed dresses in case I ever want to make a patchwork quilt or other memory craft with them. Thanks for linking up to #craftingismytherapy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

