My makes · My year

A Magical Train for a Magical Girl

When I worked as a Community Artist (several years ago now) I ran many, many music workshops for children under 5 and their families. I would often finish each music session with a ‘story song’, using a picture book I made, singing a story with the children. A firm favourite was a song about a train, pulling carriages filled with unexpected and delightful things.

I did love that job! And I remember thinking I would turn this book into a picture for my own child when I became a mum.

Over a decade later (with a few joys and sorrows along the way), at last I am. So one of my jobs before my daughter was born was to turn this picture from the original book…

20151001_134537

…into something that could be hung on my daughter’s bedroom wall.

Which I did, using a variety of methods;

  • Applique
  • Embroidery
  • Beads
  • Buttons
  • Sequins

(Basically all things that make me smile!)

And I came up with this:

What’s more, to give it extra meaning, I used the fabric from our wedding bunting to make the kite, and the whole thing is sewn onto the shawl I wore for our wedding blessing. And I’ve tucked a note to my daughter into the back of the frame, explaining all this, along with the words to the song.

I wonder if its something that she will feel inspired to hang up in her children’s nursery one day – who knows how many generations it may stay in the family? I like the thought of a distant relative finding that note in a hundred years time!!

 

Do you have any heirlooms (or budding heirlooms) that you hope your children will love as much as you do?

Pleased as ever to be linking up with:

Me You and MagooProse for ThoughtYou Baby Me Mummy

13 thoughts on “A Magical Train for a Magical Girl

  1. What a beautiful gift to make for your daughter. So much thought & effort has gone into this piece. The real beauty behind making something yourself, by hand, is that you can put lots of love into it. I’m sure your daughter will cherish this for many years. Thank you for linking up with #craftingismytherapy.

    Like

  2. Wow, that is so beautiful! I love the way that you’ve used fabric that was special to you. I’m sure that it will be treasured. And what a lovely song! Thank you for linking up to #craftingismytherapy πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

